Copyright Information

World Members Map

Internet TV:
 Light to the Nations

 Bat Melech
 Weekly Torah

Gift Shop

View Larger Map

Site Map

Mikdash Kids




































(The slideshow can be paused by placing the mouse over the image.)

(Photographs courtesy of the Temple Mount Heritage Foundation)


43 Rabbis Ascend the Temple Mount, Marking the 43 Year Anniversary of the Liberation of the Temple Mount


On May 10th, 2010, two days in advance of Jerusalem Day, (Yom Yerushalayim), in which the nation of Israel and its supporters around the world celebrate the anniversary of the day upon which Jerusalem's Old City and Temple Mount were liberated by the Israel Defense Forces on June 8, 1967, (the Hebrew date of 28 Iyar, which falls this year on May 12), forty three leading Rabbis of Israel converged at the gates to the Temple Mount, where they proceeded to ascend the Mount. The number forty three was chosen to symbolize the forty three years since the Mount was liberated. Additional rabbis and members of Knesset joined the group.

Included among the forty three Rabbis was Rabbi Yisrael Ariel, Founder and Head of the Temple Institute, who himself was one of the Israel Defense Forces paratroopers who liberated the Mount in 1967. To hear Rabbi Ariel's personal recollections of his experience, please click here. (video)

The following Rabbis took part in the ascent:

  • Rabbi Yaakov Eidels  - Rosh Yeshivat Hitzim, Itamar
  • Rabbi  Itai Elitzur - Kollel Psagot
  • Rabbi Yisrael Ariel - Head of The Temple Institute
  • Rabbi David Bronker - HaMidrasha HaTorani - IDF
  • Rabbi Gadi Ben Zimra - Ma'aleh Levona, Rav Beit Knesset & Ulpana
  • Rabbi Yitzchak Brand - Rosh Kollel Emanuel
  • Rabbi Gavriel Goldman - Rosh Yishuv Kfar Adumim
  • Rabbi Tzvi Goldfisher - Yeshivat Elon Moreh
  • Rabbi Avi Giser - Rav Yishuv Ofra
  • Rabbi Chaim Greenspan Yeshivat Hagevoha Mitzpe Yericho
  • Rabbi Dovid Dudkevitch Rav Yishuv Yitzhar, Rosh Kollel
  • Rabbi Re'em HaCohen - Rosh Yeshivat HaHesder, Otniel
  • Rabbi Aharon Harel - Rosh Yeshivat HaHesder, Shiloh
  • Rabbi Avi Walfish - Rav Posek, Tekoa
  • Rabbi Binyamin Weiss - Giv'at Shmuel
  • Rabbi Avraham Wasserman - Rav Givatayim
  • Rabbi Netanel Yosifon - Rosh Kollel, Netanya
  • Rabbi Elisha Yanun - Yeshivat Beit She'an
  • Rabbi Tzvi Yanir - Yeshivat HaHesder Petach Tikva
  • Rabbi Boaz Yaakovi - El Har HaMor
  • Rabbi Nachman Kahana - Rosh Kollel Chazon Yechezkel
  • Rabbi Yitzchak Levi - Mashgiach, Yeshivat HaHesder Har Tziyon
  • Rabbi Dov Lior - Rav Yishuv Kiryat Arba, Rosh Yeshiva
  • Rabbi Arye Lippo - Yeshivat Shiru LeMelech
  • Rabbi Yaakov Meidan - Rosh Yeshivat HaHesder Har Tziyon
  • Rabbi Yehuda Melamed - Yeshivat HaHesder Ramat Gan
  • Rabbi Yaki Savir - Rosh Yeshivat  Shiru LeMelech
  • Rabbi Menachem Felix - Yeshivat HaHesder Karnei Shomron
  • Rabbi Michael Sulton - Rav Kehilah, Kochav Yaakov
  • Rabbi Yehoshua Freedman - Yeshivat Beit HaBechira
  • Rabbi Yossi Peli - Yitzhar - Yeshivat Od Yosef Chai
  • Rabbi Yanun Tzadok - Yeshivat HaHesder Beit She'an
  • Rabbi Yehuda Kroizer-  Rav Hayishuv Mitzpe Yericho
  • Rabbi Shlomo Rosenfeld - Yeshivat HaHesder Shdemot Mechola
  • Rabbi Chaim Richman - The Temple Institute
  • Rabbi Shlomo Shushan - Yeshivat HaHesder  Beit She'an
  • Rabbi Daniel Shiloh - Rav Hayishuv Kedumim
  • Rabbi Hevron Shilo - Rosh Yeshivat Otniel Letze'irim
  • Rabbi Yitzchak Shapira - Rosh Yeshivat Od Yosef Chai/li>/ul>



home | about | news | events | study tools | gallery | articles | temple mt. | red heifer | donate | donors wall
contact | multimedia | newsletter/subscription | site map | store | El Instituto del Templo Facebook | O Instituto do Templo Facebook | ivrit | magyar | terms of use
Universal Torah | youTube | Facebook | twitter | mikdash kids | bar/bat mitzvah


The Temple Institute website is an ongoing project of the International Department of the Temple Institute, Jerusalem, Israel.

Web site contents, including all text and images, copyright ©1991-2017, The Temple Institute.
Reproduction in any form whatsoever, for any purpose, is strictly forbidden without written permission of the copyright holder.

All Rights Reserved.